LP Senators Stripped off Their Positions By Sen Manny

Liberal Party (LP) senators were removed from their positions and committee chairmanships on Monday due to the motion of neophyte Senator Manny Pacquiao.

On the start of the session  3:30 pm, Pacquiao announced his motion to declare the Senate President Pro Tempore position vacant. Senator Franklin Drilon who held the position, seconded Pacquiao’s motion.

“I will not interpellate Senator Pacquiao. I second the motion,” Drilon said.

Upon Drilon’s removal, Pacquiao elected Senator Ralph Recto, head of Senate minority group, to fill the post Drilon left vacant. Seventeen other senators out of 23 voted in favor of Recto, among these is Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero.

List of Senators Stripped off Their Positions And Transferred To Minority

LP President Senator Francis Pangilinan was replaced by senator Cynthia Villar as a chair of the agriculture senate committee. Before Pacquiao’s motion, Villar was Pangilinan’s Vice on the committee. Also, another LP member, Senator Benigno Paolo BamAquino was also stripped off his position as the senate committee on education. Aquino was replaced by Senate minority bloc member Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero.

Additionally, Akbayan Representative Riza Hontiveros was removed from her post as the head of Senate Committe on Health. She was replaced by Senator Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito on Pacquiao’s motion. Hontiveros ran under the liberal party during the May elections last 2016.

The three LP senators are now part of the minority group to be headed by Senator Antonio Trillanes IV due to Recto vacating the post. However Recto said Trillanes’ take over of his previous post is temporary until the new minority comes up with a decision on who should best assume the post.

Source: PinoyTrending, VK


Facebook Comment

Latest Posts

Random Posts